Updated: Feb 15, 2021
Georgia been on your mind with the current bills and laws being introduced? As the movement across the south brings cannabis reform to our front door here are a few things to consider if you're apart of the cannabis community in this state.
Cannabis is not fully legal in Georgia. Medical marijuanna is legal. Georgia’s medical marijuana law allows certain qualified persons to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces of “low THC oil,” which is derived from the marijuana plant. A LOW THC card can be issued by the Georgia Department of Health after medical evaluation. This card will allow you to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces without risk of arrest or fine. Georgia does recognize other state medical cannabis card holders through reciprocity. Medical Marijuana patients with valid recommendations from other states can access Medical Marijuana in Georgia provided they fill out a visiting patient form and can provide proof of out-of-state registration. Georgia residents and visitors can legally purchase cbd products. Which are products containing .03% THC or less.
Personal possession use for 1 oz or less gets you a misdemeanor , subject to 1 year in jail with a $ 1,000 fine. More than 1 oz under personal use gets you a felony, between 1 - 10 years with a mandatory one year minimum, and a fine of $ 5,000. Georgia's state laws are very strict in regards to weed to say the least. However in Fulton County those arrested for possession of less than an ounce of marijuana could face no jail time and a fine of no more than $75 under the change. Other counties like Clayton County , a neighboring area followed suit. This doesn't mean it isn't legal you would simply face a smaller fine with no jail time.
Overall, Georgia is acting real southern with the time they are taking to legal cannabis 100%. That doesn't mean you can't still benefit from the use of it just with a few parameters in place.